Search

Adv. Search

Subscribe

Email

Go Back   Wave Music Community Board > Tech Talk for Gearheads

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2009, 08:37 PM

Allen & Heath Xone S2 vs. Rane MP2016A

Hi guys, been a longtime reader and now first time poster.

Can anyone give me their quick personal opinion on the Xone S2 vs. the MP2016A? I want a rack mount rotary mixer that has split cue headphone monitoring and can't find a direct comparison anywhere.

Keep in mind that this is for a portable rig, so the outputs will be running into a Mackie active PA (i.e. not an RLA setup that would easily distinguish the best from the rest ) I've never used an Allen & Heath filter before, so I don't know if that would also satisfy my desire for a GSA Isolator and save my $900 in the process.

As a bit of background, I'm trying to create the ultimate "party box" setup that I can easily use for house parties around town without breaking my back. The short story is that I am trying to create a rig that gets the most bang for my buck AND can fit inside my Volkswagen Jetta! Wish me luck!

(I'll explain in more detail with pics later).

Thanks,
Ben
Old 05-04-2009, 09:35 PM

Personal opinion. The MP2016 + the XP2016 expander would be perfect for you, in my opinion.
It’s a better build and I think it sounds better than the A&H gear (V6 excepted)………
My opinion, I’m sure people will disagree…… Let’s start the “Discussion”………
Old 05-04-2009, 11:39 PM

Anyone actually done an S2 verses 2016A comparison in person? Rumor has it, the S2 is a leap in sound qaulity over the other sub-V6 Xones. I'll tell you, the 62/92 don't thrill me. They're o.k., but the thrill is gone.

https://www.bpmsupreme.com/newyearne...?ref=5-mKSlxcx
Old 05-05-2009, 01:15 AM