Wave Music Home
ReleasesCommunityYour OrderWave Music
ArtistsEventsDJ MixesShop

Wave Music Home


Home
About Us
Labels
Distributed Labels
Links




Search


Adv. Search



Subscribe


Email






Go Back   Wave Music Community Board > Tech Talk for Gearheads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:26 AM
shihp001 shihp001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 252
a new mixer from Japan

There is a company in Japan making their own mixer is called Alpha Music. Check out their site at http://www.alphamusique.com/html/model4100.htm

Don't how is sounds but actually a friend of mine works there. They studied the Urei 1620 inside and out. I would guess the sound is very close to Urei 1620.

The mixer is available sometimes this early summer. Here is some pictures of the mixer.









Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:42 AM
soundmanshorty soundmanshorty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 1,421
Very nice

Quote:
Originally Posted by shihp001
There is a company in Japan making their own mixer is called Alpha Music. Check out their site at http://www.alphamusique.com/html/model4100.htm

Don't how is sounds but actually a friend of mine works there. They studied the Urei 1620 inside and out. I would guess the sound is very close to Urei 1620.

The mixer is available sometimes this early summer. Here is some pictures of the mixer.











lookin, hope it sounds good, it should sound good, but id like to hear one, looks like they thought of everythin you need for a good preamp section

Last edited by soundmanshorty : 05-02-2008 at 12:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2008, 05:23 AM
eoin eoin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 119
This looks very nice, any idea of a price???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2008, 05:43 AM
shihp001 shihp001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 252
240000 yen so around $2300!
It does look nice tho.
Kinda pricey for a company making a mixer the first time,
but if it sound good then I would say reasonable.

Alpha music is well known for repairing & refurbishing original Urei 1620's in Japan. I know someone who works there and they actually give 1 year warranty on the Ureis they sell.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2008, 05:44 AM
RETRODISKO's Avatar
RETRODISKO RETRODISKO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 918
Send a message via MSN to RETRODISKO
I want to listen to it!!! I like the design, Simple, and easy , No gizmos .. just what you need,
__________________
Yaxkin Retrodisko
http://www.yaxkinretrodisko.com
twitter retrodisko
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2008, 05:50 AM
shihp001 shihp001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 252
All it needs is a 1U VU meter, a Thrive 3 ways iso, and a 5 way eq would be even better. 6U total!

I am try to contact my friend and see if I can test drive it!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-02-2008, 05:58 AM
Clydebuilt Clydebuilt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 64
re

Looks like a great boutique company !

They make a crossfader for both 1620 &1620LE, Nice!

I see they also make a 5 band EQ, and a phono preamp.

Very impressive.

The quality of that mixer LOOKS sweet, hope you get the chance to listen to one.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:01 AM
RETRODISKO's Avatar
RETRODISKO RETRODISKO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 918
Send a message via MSN to RETRODISKO
I like Independent gears, So you customize at your own taste your fav brands fav isolators fav VU Meters, etc etc
__________________
Yaxkin Retrodisko
http://www.yaxkinretrodisko.com
twitter retrodisko
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-02-2008, 08:20 AM
xanda67 xanda67 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Frankfurt/ Germany
Posts: 27
How nice. Six stereo channels would be better. Plus master tone control and balance.

Can anyone start buying one of all high quality club mixers and open up a museum? Where you can touch and listen? I would be the first tourist.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-02-2008, 09:23 AM
shihp001 shihp001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clydebuilt
Looks like a great boutique company !

They make a crossfader for both 1620 &1620LE, Nice!

I see they also make a 5 band EQ, and a phono preamp.

Very impressive.

The quality of that mixer LOOKS sweet, hope you get the chance to listen to one.

I like how you use the word "boutique".
They made a 5 way eq and it was nice of them (Kenzo) who actually brought one down to let us demo it on Louie's night. They does make hi-fi phono pre-amp, Urei 1620 line card, and their own hi-fi Urei phono card. Never try any of the item.

The mixer does look real nice tho!

Since the lines and phonos share the name channels, I hope they tune the phono and line output level the same?

I wonder how is the Bozak mixer & the expension comming along?

Last edited by shihp001 : 05-02-2008 at 09:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-02-2008, 10:04 AM
charles0322 charles0322 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 697
Send a message via AIM to charles0322
they basically took the now out of production Urei LE & made another slick little brother version.. very interesting, should be under $1500, 4 channels.. same great alps pots. but I'm sure it has to be a decent sounding mixer. Shorty, call them for a demo.. I'm sure they will send you one.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-02-2008, 11:33 AM
Mistick Krewe Mistick Krewe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hoodoo audio heaven
Posts: 1,403
pretty sweet...

kinda reminds me of a early Audioarts... aesthetics wise...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:11 PM
der geile ami der geile ami is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: berlin
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by xanda67
How nice. Six stereo channels would be better. Plus master tone control and balance.

Can anyone start buying one of all high quality club mixers and open up a museum? Where you can touch and listen? I would be the first tourist.

while a nice idea, all of the silkscreenings would get rubbed off.

what would be cool is an exhibit demonstrating the sonic differences.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:13 PM
Mistick Krewe Mistick Krewe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hoodoo audio heaven
Posts: 1,403
not if you bought plexi glass to prevent the letters from rubbing off...
(remember that thread?)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-03-2008, 02:51 AM
Fred Bissnette Fred Bissnette is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: toronto ontario canada
Posts: 1,122
that mixer is perfect its laid out well has no tone coloration and has all the needs for any pro install

all you need is your 3 way crossover and its off you go

ive never seen a better looking mixer i think this is exactly what the industry needs is a mixer to build your system from peice by peice

great work

peas
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:03 AM
djchris73 djchris73 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montebello, California
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to djchris73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Bissnette
that mixer is perfect its laid out well has no tone coloration and has all the needs for any pro install

all you need is your 3 way crossover and its off you go

ive never seen a better looking mixer i think this is exactly what the industry needs is a mixer to build your system from piece by piece

great work

peas
I agree. Mixers should do one job, mix. I don't think it should have tone controls. It's easier to troubleshoot a sound system if it's modular. If money wasn't an issue, I'd use outboard Mic and phono preamps, too. I think even this should not be a task that the mixer should be responsible for.

You want a change in Tone? Use an EQ, Isolator, crossover, effector or whatever. Fred, one more thing I think you would need or could use besides a 3 way crossover is an adjustable meter, So you can set it so that it goes into the red when you start to clip your amps, but that's just MHO.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:06 AM
Fred Bissnette Fred Bissnette is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: toronto ontario canada
Posts: 1,122
yeah the db display should be calibrated to the amps

good call
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:25 AM
djchris73 djchris73 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montebello, California
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to djchris73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Bissnette
yeah the db display should be calibrated to the amps

good call
Thanks. I'm glad you agree. Great minds think alike When I got my American Audio and Stageline VU meters I thought
"How do the meters know when the mixer's in the red and/or know that the signal is clipping?". Then I saw the adjustment pots for the left
and right on both meters and realized that having the adjustment pots available must be there for the discretion of the operator. And I thought
why would a DJ want that? The only thing I could think of was it was meant to monitor distant signals or signals that have no usual way of being
monitored. That why some people use them to look at input signals from their sources.

In the past when I've used UREIs and Bozaks, I had no way of knowing I was clipping the amps. I had to continuously keep bending over to look
underneath the table to see if the amplifiers were going into the red or not. I use a Rane MP2016A now and it has a little green/red LED that
let's me see that a signal is present and when it starts to clip the Main House output. But there is nothing like have a one rack
space, 40 segment LED meter to let you know to bring it back.

Last edited by djchris73 : 05-03-2008 at 07:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:41 AM
DJ_CARY DJ_CARY is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by shihp001
All it needs is a 1U VU meter, a Thrive 3 ways iso, and a 5 way eq would be even better. 6U total!

Actually if u look at the main site, the power unit is seperate.
making it a 4 unit rack space (3 mixer +1 power source).


So it's a 7 U total

-Cary
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:45 AM
shihp001 shihp001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 252
I totally missed that.
I guess you can put that 1U power supply on the side or something.
This mixer got me real curious. I just hope it sounds good.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-03-2008, 05:45 AM
djchris73 djchris73 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montebello, California
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to djchris73
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_CARY
Actually if u look at the main site, the power unit is seperate.
making it a 4 unit rack space (3 mixer +1 power source).
Hmm, I dunno 'bout that. This mixer looks like two rack spaces to me, not three.

I'd imagine you could probably rack the P/S elsewhere, closeby, freeing up valuable real estate.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-03-2008, 08:28 AM
Rotary Dreams Rotary Dreams is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glyfada, Athens , Greece
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by djchris73
Hmm, I dunno 'bout that. This mixer looks like two rack spaces to me, not three. .

Yeap as i can see is 2 U rack spaced
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-03-2008, 09:38 AM
taisei's Avatar
taisei taisei is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: JAPAN
Posts: 164
I tried their 3U version
__________________
http://www.musicmushroom.com
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-03-2008, 10:56 AM
C_T C_T is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 213
how is a "PC" input any different from a line input?
__________________
||| www.djchristopherthomas.com |||
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-03-2008, 02:41 PM
Kevin James Kevin James is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,005
I just noticed the selector knob for the FX send/Return. Don't know how I missed it but I DON'T like that at all to the point it would stop me from buying the unit. YOu have a choice of channell 1-4 so you could use an isolator likea per channell EQ, but you can not use it on the master channell which is more important to me than the channells. THis was a stupid move IMO.
__________________
Download my latest mixes here
http://house-mixes.com/artists/Kevin_James
New mix added 11/28/09

Watch me spin live Saturdays 3-5PM PST here
http://www.stickam.com/faderwaveradio

Baba Booey!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.0.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2006 Wave Music


© Wave Entertainment Group, Inc.