Wave Music Home
ReleasesCommunityYour OrderWave Music
ArtistsEventsDJ MixesShop

Wave Music Home


Home
About Us
Labels
Distributed Labels
Links




Search


Adv. Search



Subscribe


Email






Go Back   Wave Music Community Board > Tech Talk for Gearheads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:23 AM
calle calle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 70
Converting Urei balance pots to pre-level pots

Hi,
I have an Urei 1620LE and since I cant
find an important use for the balance
pots, Im thinking of rewiring them so
they work as pre-level pots instead, which I need
so I can match the levels from different
records/CDs when I pre-listen to them.

Is there anybody that uses the balance
pots today?

Cheers

/Carl

p.s does anyboy know how I change the Subject of this thread since its now misleading? d.s.

Last edited by calle : 02-09-2006 at 11:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:40 AM
johann johann is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 26
I'm not technical but I highly doubt that you can put a gain on that pot. And then your sound will go through too many channels which is a bit opposite to the original idea of simplicity.

I use the LE with my cd player, my computer, a laptop and my vinyl and by staying a 6 with vinyl, I have room for my cd player (7-8) and for my pc (8-10)

The main problem should come from your pc but maybe you can buy the duo audio car in which you can adjust the volume in order to boost the volume.

Hope this helps
Peace
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:44 AM
dancindave's Avatar
dancindave dancindave is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 424
You need an active circuit to get gain out of the UREI line channels. I know a guy who makes such a thing, and can customize your UREI so that there are gain pots on the front panel. Email him here:

david@duo-audio.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2006, 10:45 AM
calle calle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 70
Oops, sorry for my english, of course I
ment passive level controls, not active
gain.
I just need to interchange the input and
output of the pot for one of the channels
on each balance pot.

/Carl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2006, 07:46 PM
djmariog djmariog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 826
Email me @ djmariog@aol.com
__________________
djmariog@aol.com
Mario G.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2006, 07:52 PM
djmariog djmariog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 826
There is also custom active circut that must be installed in the mixer. If this is not done You will have problems.
__________________
djmariog@aol.com
Mario G.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2006, 08:25 PM
dancindave's Avatar
dancindave dancindave is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally posted by calle
Oops, sorry for my english, of course I
ment passive level controls, not active
gain.
I just need to interchange the input and
output of the pot for one of the channels
on each balance pot.

/Carl


You can put in trim pots for the phono if you want to reduce the signal to match the line levels. Not very elegant since you'd be reducing the sound of the turntables. They would have to match the volume pots so that the impedance remains the same in the circuit.

The active approach is better, but more costly since the line preamp cards would have to be used. They have a pot on them, so it would be simply be putting wiring on the pots so they could mount to the faceplate. The balance pots may be bypassed, so that they aren't in the way.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dscf0220_reduced.jpg (42.8 KB, 487 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2006, 08:49 PM
Rotarymadness's Avatar
Rotarymadness Rotarymadness is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally posted by djmariog
There is also custom active circut that must be installed in the mixer. If this is not done You will have problems.


as Mario said if you don't do the trick you will have gain problem.

btw I played GSA UREI mixer with trim pot @ Zouk
That mixer sounds Great!

peace

t
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2006, 03:38 AM
pbellsound pbellsound is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NEW YORK CITY
Posts: 652
I have an Urei 1620LE
Is it just me or didn't the original question refer to a new 1620LE? These sugestions are for the original 1620, a very different console.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2006, 08:25 AM
dancindave's Avatar
dancindave dancindave is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally posted by pbellsound
I have an Urei 1620LE
Is it just me or didn't the original question refer to a new 1620LE? These sugestions are for the original 1620, a very different console.


Does the 1620LE have gain adjustment?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-10-2006, 12:43 PM
RETRODISKO's Avatar
RETRODISKO RETRODISKO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 918
Send a message via MSN to RETRODISKO
regarding the UREI 1620LE

i have two questions,

1 The line level is less loud than the Phono pre?, like the old urei?

2 Where i can get the 3rd phono preamp of the LE?

Ill apreciate
__________________
Yaxkin Retrodisko
http://www.yaxkinretrodisko.com
twitter retrodisko
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-10-2006, 02:07 PM
dancindave's Avatar
dancindave dancindave is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally posted by RETRODISKO
regarding the UREI 1620LE

i have two questions,

1 The line level is less loud than the Phono pre?, like the old urei?

2 Where i can get the 3rd phono preamp of the LE?

Ill apreciate

1 - It must be unless they have implemented an active circuit, but there is no indication of this.

2 - Hit up Soundcraft and they sell the new phono cards directly for ~$27 USD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-2006, 04:26 PM
jensx jensx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 116
as far as I know (not first hand information): same problems with new urei as with original urei, because they wanted to stay as close to the original as possible, so the phono preamp cards should be usefull in the LE as well and they should fit since phono cards from new and old are interchangable
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-19-2006, 09:32 AM
calle calle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 70
Mission completed (the really Cheap way)

Hi, thanks for all the responses regading this issue!

I finally did a very minor modification to my Urei 1620LE to solve my problem.

I simply exchanged the in and out of the left side of the balance pot with help of
a few centimeters of cable.
So now I can use my balance pots to adjust the channel volume while I'm cueing.
The right channel isn't changed at all. No extra electronics in the path except a
few centimeters of cable for the left channel so the sonic signature of the
mixer hasn't been changed.
And it's easily reversible if I want to get the balance function back.

Cheers!

/Carl
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-19-2006, 09:54 AM
DJ-H- DJ-H- is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 19
You've just made your Urei into a Rane 2016. Congratulations.

:-)

I don't remember ever having problems with levels on my old original 1620. The Soundcraft 1620LE must be slightly different in terms of line-level gain.

-H-
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:49 PM
calle calle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 70
The levels on the Urei 1620LE are fine IMHO.

The main reason for this modification is so I can match the
levels of two sources when I cue the two sources in my headphones before I mix.

I find this useful when I do cut mixes opposite to slowly bringing in the new song.
This way the new song with be cut in at the right level if I keep the main channel
level pots at the same position for both channels. IMHO especially useful when
mixing 2 records that are recorded at different levels.

/Carl
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-19-2006, 05:35 PM
djmariog djmariog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 826
Hello Carl,

You have done well congrats, but you compleated only 1/2 the job.
There will be a increase in output when changeing your cue points.
__________________
djmariog@aol.com
Mario G.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:16 AM
calle calle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 70
Thanks Mario :-)

Yes, youre right about the increase,
Ill stick to the 12 oclock position for most of the time,
but when needed I have the posibility to adjust the level up or down.

/Carl
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.0.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2006 Wave Music


© Wave Entertainment Group, Inc.