Wave Music Home
ReleasesCommunityYour OrderWave Music
ArtistsEventsDJ MixesShop

Wave Music Home


Home
About Us
Labels
Distributed Labels
Links




Search


Adv. Search



Subscribe


Email






Go Back   Wave Music Community Board > Tech Talk for Gearheads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2010, 12:33 AM
thesilicongod thesilicongod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 16
Bozak - power transformer for australia?

Hi Boyz & Girls,

I need help with my power transformer setting for my mixer and turnies in Australia so I don't stuff up anything! I only know music not tech stuff.

I have come back from japan with a bozakCMA and 2 x 1200s. In Australia we use 240V, the gear is all 110V.

Its says the bozak is 20 watts and the 1200's 11 watts each. Totally 42 watts in all.

Q1. I guess a standard 100W power transformer (110 to 240V) would do them all right?

Q2. Can they all go through one transformer or do i need to buy 3 transformers?

thanks in advance.
need to get the bozak set up!!

D.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2010, 03:28 AM
tufftuff tufftuff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 20
You may want to consider having an Isonoe Power Supply Rack Unit.
You have to commission these from Justin at Isonoe.

Isonoe Custom Equipment

Last time I checked, he can produce one for roughly 650 Australian Dollars, plus the additional expenses of fitting, shipping, etc.

You also have the option of making modifications while having the power supply unit install. He can completely refurbish a Bozak with more modern components, as well as install new features like a PGM/CUE dial.

His work with isolation feet and Rega Arms is also legendary, which are probably the weakest departments audio-wise in the Technics' design.

Justin is tremendously insightful about these sort of matters and can inform you about these matters in very simple, minimally technical format.

-tufftuff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2010, 04:51 AM
Richi Richi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 580
A stepdown transformer plugged into a power strip will achieve the result that you are after.

Jaycar are good for these and if you head into a store their staff are always knowledgeable.




http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MF1080&keywords=stepdown&form=K EYWORD
________
Honda Canada Inc. specifications

Last edited by Richi : 02-02-2011 at 07:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2010, 10:06 AM
root root is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 83
If your 1200's are mk2, they should have a screw under the platter for adjusting the correct voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2010, 10:16 AM
vinyl_junkie vinyl_junkie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South East Kent, UK
Posts: 1,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by root
If your 1200's are mk2, they should have a screw under the platter for adjusting the correct voltage.

USA 1200's don't have this only European ones do to my knowledge i.e. UK, don't know about Japan 1200's though
__________________
--The future scares me, any chance of a lift back to the past any one?--
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2010, 10:20 AM
vinyl_junkie vinyl_junkie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South East Kent, UK
Posts: 1,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by tufftuff
You may want to consider having an Isonoe Power Supply Rack Unit.
You have to commission these from Justin at Isonoe.

Isonoe Custom Equipment

Last time I checked, he can produce one for roughly 650 Australian Dollars, plus the additional expenses of fitting, shipping, etc.

You also have the option of making modifications while having the power supply unit install. He can completely refurbish a Bozak with more modern components, as well as install new features like a PGM/CUE dial.

His work with isolation feet and Rega Arms is also legendary, which are probably the weakest departments audio-wise in the Technics' design.

Justin is tremendously insightful about these sort of matters and can inform you about these matters in very simple, minimally technical format.

-tufftuff

I’ve been in touch with Justin this morning. He’s extremely grateful for the kind words, but would like to make it clear that he’s not related to Tuff-Tuff in any way.

Yep a 100w step down should be fine for that lot.
The Isonoe product might be a good choice further down the line if you want to further improve the performance of your Bozak but I doubt you want to shell out another load of money after you have just got some nice new expensive toys well unless you are loaded lol
__________________
--The future scares me, any chance of a lift back to the past any one?--
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2010, 06:17 AM
Special.K Special.K is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 630
Yeah grab a step down from jaycar and a 110v power strip off eBay ( as you might find it hard to find one in oz )....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.0.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2006 Wave Music


© Wave Entertainment Group, Inc.